Name Change

19 November 2012
Association Name Change Recognises the Growth of Milton Keynes
The Buckinghamshire Association of Local Councils, has added Milton Keynes to its name and will now be known as the Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes Association of Local Councils. The Association, based in Aylesbury is one of thirty eight County Associations that provides advice and guidance to both Clerks and Councillors. It also runs the annual Best
Kept Village competition.

On the name change John Gibbs, CEO, said “The Association needs to reflect the importance and influence of Milton Keynes, particularly around the area of devolved services with more powers to Parishes resulting from the Localism Act.”

“You cannot ignore the recent forecast which puts Milton Keynes at the top of local authorities in terms of annualised, employment and population growth from 2013-2017 inclusive,” he said. “Furthermore I cannot disregard the opportunity in creating new Parishes and working in partnership with Milton Keynes to help them add value to their communities,” he added. The Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes Association of Local Councils is a membership organisation that represents Town and Parish Councils throughout the whole of the County of Buckinghamshire. Its President is Sir Henry-Aubrey-Fletcher, HM Lord Lieutenant for Buckinghamshire.
Further information from: John Gibbs, County Executive Officer, Buckinghamshire and
Milton Keynes Association of Local Councils, County Hall, Walton Street, Aylesbury,
HP20 1UA, Tel: 01296 383154, Fax: 01296 387966, Email: