Continuous Professional Development Scheme

[et_pb_section fb_built=”1″ _builder_version=”3.22″][et_pb_row _builder_version=”3.25″ background_size=”initial” background_position=”top_left” background_repeat=”repeat”][et_pb_column type=”4_4″ _builder_version=”3.25″ custom_padding=”|||” custom_padding__hover=”|||”][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.27.4″ background_size=”initial” background_position=”top_left” background_repeat=”repeat”]


Continuous Professional Development (CPD) activities are undertaken by council employees to help maintain and improve standards of performance in their work. When council employees engage in CPD, they strengthen their knowledge and skills for the significant benefit of their councils and their communities. In particular, the clerk as the most senior member of staff in the council should show a commitment to their and the council’s continuous development and improvement. CPD activities make sure that clerks have up-to-date knowledge and skills and facilitate the development of new ideas for application in the workplace. All clerks whose councils seek a Local Council Award, are required to demonstrate that they have achieved at least 12 CPD points in the 12 months immediately preceding the council’s application for an award. CPD activities therefore carry a specified number of points.

The National Improvement Strategy supports the growth of the Continuous Professional Development Scheme (CPDS) for local council clerks and staff.  Although the programme is aimed at clerks, councillors are also free to participate in the programme.

Further information is available from NALC by clicking on the links below:

Read the Continuous Professional Development Scheme

Record of CPDS template

Find out more about SLCC’s CPDS courses

Information on the local Council Award Scheme here





Share this post